307th Bomb Wing honors Annual Award winners

  • Published
  • By Senior Airman Kate Bragg
  • 307th Bomb Wing

The 307th Bomb Wing honored its 2020 Annual Award winners during a ceremony April 11 at Barksdale Air Force Base, Louisiana.

The recipients won based on their character and competence, qualities the Air Force looks for to meet the needs and challenges of the 21st century.

The honorees were:

Airmen - Senior Airman Jayla Gilmore, 307th Force Support Squadron

Noncommissioned Officer - Technical Sgt. Clint Melancon, 307th Bomb Wing Command Post

Senior Noncommissioned Officer - Senior Master Sgt. Matthew Fors, 489th Maintenance Squadron

First Sergeant - Senior Master Sgt. Carlos Jackson, 307th Aircraft Maintenance Squadron

Company Grade Officer - Capt. Paula Bomar, 307th Medical Squadron

Field Grade Officer - Maj. Kevin Gibbs, 345th Bomb Squadron

Civilian Technician - Mrs. Kaleigh Tibbit, 307th Bomb Wing Financial Management Section

Civilian Specialist - Mr. William Avants, 307th Operations Support Squadron

Reserve Citizen Airman - Senior Airman Hannah Vitello, 307th Maintenance Squadron

Gilmore, who won Airman of the Year, said she felt good about winning the award but ultimately was very surprised.

“I know there is always more work to be done, but so far so good,” Gilmore said.

Bomar, the Company Grade Officer of the Year, said winning would not change how she interacts with her patients and fellow airmen.

“I always try and represent the unit the best that I can and be the best Airman I can be,” Bomar said.